Getting Priorities Unbalanced

When I started this blog I was on holidays, deciding what to do next, and had plenty of time. Now I have a few more concrete things I need to get done; a business to set up, a gym to attend,  a knitting group to go to, and homework to do. As a consequence I am finding that writing the blog has slipped a bit. I think I need to take a moment to regroup, and get my priorities rejumbled.

The tendency for me is to want to get systematic and put first things first in an organised way. However I fear that I am going to organise myself out of doing the thing that I love the most which is writing the blog. Of course all those activities need time spent on them. When I was setting up my work webpage, I was feeling wordpress overload, so slowed down on the blog writing, which I think can be forgiven, as that was a big job that did need to be done quickly. However I don’t want to start telling myself that I am too busy now, so I will have to let the blog go.

The biggest risk to the blog is probably homework. I need to spend a few hours a week on assignments for my small business course. This brings out my “good girl” as I always like to impress in the classroom.  However as an adult learner with two university degrees under my belt, proving that I can read and repeat is not something that I need to be spending a lot of time on, particularly if the topics are not in my area of interest.

What to do? I think I need to calm down the good girl who feels anxious about her homework, and explain to her why writing the blog is a higher priority. Expressing my own ideas in writing is something that I always wanted to do. It feels like the right thing to do, and the right time to be doing it. If homework suffers, so be it. It would be a terrible mistake to let anything interfere with the confidence that I am building as a writer. I plan to discipline myself to give creativity and flexibility priority in my life.

This is an image of a chair swamped by seaweed after a strom a few years ago.  A great illustration that you can have too much of a good thing!

2 comments
  1. Thanks for the timely reminder to check priorities- my inner good girl has been quite a tyrant recently!

    • Linda said:

      Glad to be of help! The inner good girl thinks she’s doing the right thing, but she needs to lighten up! Love the knitting by the way. I am in a knitting group and totally agree on knitting by the TV as one of life’s great pleasures.

Leave a Reply

