Finding a Voice

One of the reasons for starting this blog was to begin writing in a more organised way. I find it difficult to find a balance between creative “input” and “output”. Input would be things like reading books and blogs, and watching TV. Output would be writing or taking photos, and sharing them. There is another stage in the middle which is thinking and integrating, which I also spend a lot of time doing. The balance tends to swing towards taking in ideas and integrating them in my everyday life. However I would also like to produce more artistic or creative output.

One of the things that holds me back is shyness. People who know me would probably dispute that I am shy as it does not always come across in everyday life. However when it comes to expressing my ideas or showing my writing I feel very self protective. I am more comfortable with showing my photographs, because they seem more external.

For the last few weeks I have been burying myself in blogs on minimalism while doing a major cull on my belongings. I am beginning to feel saturated with instructions for cleaning out draws and discarding unwanted clothing. I already know how to do it, I think I just wanted the company – a cheer squad who understood what I was trying to do. A charity truck is coming in two days to take away quite a few boxes of stuff and I think its time to take a break from thinking about “things” and get back to writing.

One of the conundrums of minimalist blogging is that minimalism is meant to free us from directing too much time and attention to material possessions and their management. I suspect that for many people, including bloggers, once simplicity or minimalism becomes a way of life, it fades into the background and becomes part of the context in which other interests can expand. Thats what I am hoping for myself.

Hiding in the Daffodils

Leave a Reply

